Awards & Recognition Programs


KAHCF Quality Awards

The Best of Kentucky  - Nursing and Rehabilitation Award

KAHCF’s “The Best of Kentucky - Nursing and Rehabilitation” Competition is designed to recognize the best of Kentucky’s nursing and rehab facilities and to educate community leaders about our profession. This compe­tition addresses the most important factors in long-term care - the loving and compassionate way that a facility's staff cares for their residents and what the facility is doing to continue to provide quality care and meet residents' needs.

Leadership Award

KAHCF strives to recognize administrators, directors of nursing, and corporate officers for outstanding contributions to their facility and the long term care profession. KAHCF will recognize the top scorers, based on scores and number of entries, in this category during the Quality Awards Banquet.

Care Partner Award

The Care Partner Award recognizes Medical Directors, Dietitians, Pharmacists, Therapists, Nurse Practitioners, and Physicians’ Assistants who work in our member facilities. This award will honor them for their work in providing quality care, with demonstrated evidence of their effort. Multiple winners will be recognized based on scores and number of entries.

Professional Achievement Award

Kentucky’s long-term care facilities employ over 25,000 professionals who care for more than 31,000 residents. These employees are the backbone of our profession, with facilities relying on dedicated teamwork and skills to provide quality care and compassion to residents and families. KAHCF’s Professional Achievement Awards are designed to honor those individuals who have excelled in providing outstanding care in a cooperative spirit of teamwork.

There are three categories in which you can nominate staff: Nursing Care (Administrative Nurse, LPN, RN), Caregiving (Kentucky Medication Aide, PC Caregiver, State Registered Nurse Aide), Supportive Care (Activities, Dietary, Environmental Services, Social Services/Admissions, Support Services such as administrative assistant, bookkeeping/billing, medical records, other related supportive services)


KCAL Awards

Community Event Award

This award recognizes an assisted living community which has shown extensive involvement in their community. Assisted living communities that have established strong working relationships with community groups and organizations are better able to provide total quality of life for their residents by making the community a viable and integral part of the towns and neighborhoods in which they are located.

Leadership Award

This award recognizes a leader in an assisted living community who demonstrates outstanding innovation, achievement, and capabilities in their provision of high-quality person-centered care in a service-oriented culture in an assisted living community.

Outstanding Resident Award

This award recognizes an individual resident in your community for contributions that have positively influenced the quality of life for residents or the quality of the working environment for the staff.

Outstanding Caregiver Award

This award recognizes front-line caregivers, support and office staff from any department for their contributions that lead to improved quality of life for the residents and create a better work environment for the assisted living community's staff. This includes, but is not limited to, direct care staff from nursing, support/office staff, housekeeping, dietary, activities/recreation, laundry, and maintenance departments.

AHCA/NCAL Quality Award Program

Get your facility recognized on a national level! The AHCA/NCAL National Quality Award Program helps you to evaluate your organization’s strengths and opportunities, identify critical areas for improvement, and implement a plan to be stronger, more resilient, and successful than ever before. The three-level program evaluates long term care organizations capabilities against nationally recognized standards for excellence, making it one of the most comprehensive and cost-effective performance assessments available to providers. Each progressive award levels— Bronze – Commitment to Quality, Silver - Achievement in Quality, and Gold – Excellence in Quality, requires a more detailed demonstration of superior performance. Learn more about the value of the program.

Visit the Quality Award Program website for more information and instructions on how to apply.